“Can I borrow a dollar?” | Money, Computers, and Your Future

It has come to my attention that the “Great Recession” has ended, or so we’re being told, but let’s look at the stats for a minute here. Sure the U.S. gained 3.5 million jobs post-recession, but they lost 7.5 million to begin with. That’s 4 million jobs multiply that by an average salary around $50, 000 and that gives us $200 billion that Americans are no longer earning. So what happened to all these jobs? Well, some jobs were completely lost due to company closures, which is understandable, but a large number of employees simply weren’t good enough to get their jobs back. Instead, CEO’s poured money out of their already swollen pockets and deprived the less fortunate by replacing them with machines created to do their jobs, flawlessly, making the rich richer and poor poorer.

It won’t continue this way though will it?

Oh but it will! A report from a few Oxford researchers, stated that “45 percent of America’s occupations will be automated within the next 20 years”. If this turns out to be true, what’s the “average Joe” supposed to do to make a living? Factory jobs are quickly being replaced by machines and the jobs that once required a college education or a  Bachelor’s degree from university now require Master’s degrees and even PhD’s!

Are you intelligent enough? Can you even afford it?

I’m trying at least…I’m currently in my third year working towards completing my Bachelor of Science with a few “thoughts” constantly popping up in my head. Not only do I find it absolutely obscene that I’m paying thousands of dollars to be here but I can safely say that if my grades aren’t above 80 percent by the time I graduate…I’ll be living in my parent’s basement working a minimum wage job or slightly better for the next few years trying to pay back the thousands of dollars I borrowed.

What’s the answer?

Don’t get me wrong, if you think university is the only way to go, then by all means don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. My only advice, that I wish I had figured out before I slacked off for the past 2 and a half years, is figure out what you want to do BEFORE you get yourself tangled up with a mediocre average and your parents’ yearly wage-worth of debt. Or, do something that looks promising for the future; I’ll give you a hint…

untitled

Need another one?

untitled (2)

Yes! Computers! Exactly what I’ve been rambling on about and saying is ruining our economy, might actually be part of the solution. I believe the saying goes “If you can’t beat them, join them”, well that might not be the worst idea at this point.

What are the most promising jobs anyways?

Here are the 5 most promising jobs of 2014 as listed by U.S. News and World Report

5. Pharmacist
4. Nurse Practitioner
3. Dentist
2. Computer Systems Analyst
1. Software Developer

The results speak for themselves. The top two occupations, as predicted, are computer related and don’t actually require a university degree. The next three: healthcare (could have called that one too). All three of these professions require a university degree, a graduate studies degree and some stellar grades.

So what’s our best bet?

Here it is plain and simple:
1. learn about computers and how they work
2. read those disgustingly boring science textbooks cover-to-cover
3. Create the next Snapchat, or;
4. hope to God that you fill out your perfect NCAA March Madness bracket for Warren Buffett.

Leave a Reply

